Haley Tye To Attend Union College for Basketball and Athletic Training Degree.

New Washington senior guard Haley Tye has announced her commitment to play women’s basketball for Union College located in Barbourville, Kentucky. Tye plans to major in Athletic Training Degree and is attracted to Union because of the reputation of that program.

“I like Union because it’s small and offers a great education. Babourville is just a little bit bigger than New Wash so most of my free time will definitely be spent in the gym just like I do here,” said Tye.

The Union recruit was a three year varsity starter for New Washington. She averaged 17.3 points a game her senior campaign along with 5.2 rebounds. Tye earned a reputation as one of the best free throw shooters around Southern Indiana with an 87 percent standard. Countless numbers of hours come flooding back to the New Washington point guard as she recalled her method and strategy for her free throw proficiency.

“When I’m working out in the gym I shoot free throws when I get tired. When I was a sophomore I started this thing where I wouldn’t let myself leave the gym until I hit 10 free throws in a row. It made for some very late nights but once I started to get better at free throws it just became the routine I would do before I headed home for the night,” added Tye. 

Union College will return eight seniors for the 2017-2018 women’s basketball season and Tye is expecting big things from her inaugural college experience. “I watched the team play in February and I just recently went to an open gym with them and they are a fun group and they play the game well. I plan on working as hard as I possibly can to take my game to the next level”.

Having made her college choice, Tye now shares a distinction with another Mustang graduate and former neighbor of hers in Matthew Arthur who played at Union from 1996-2000. Tye has grown up around the Arthur family and credits them as a second family for her. “They have been watching me play ever since I started playing and it’s extremely cool that I will be playing at Union as Matthew did”. 

When asked about the impact her coaches have had on her career, Tye recalls her very first moments lacing up her sneakers to her very last as a New Washington mustang. She eagerly recalls all the moments her coaches shared their time and knowledge with her in the gym. “They have spent countless hours with me in the gym teaching me different things and constantly pushing me to get better”.

Coach Roger Curtis was her first to teach her the game of basketball in the programs Saturday morning league. “When I was in first grade and he has helped me work on my game a lot and especially step backs and bank shots”.

More importantly they’ve taught me lessons that will help me in life and not just on the basketball court. I’ve really learned how important mental toughness and having the right attitude is in athletics during my senior seasons and I know it will help me a lot in college.      

Haley Tye on her High School Coaches

“Coach Daniel Latham this season but he has really helped shape me as an athlete and has taught me to never settle and always keep working hard”.

“Coach Holloway at basketball and Coach McCutcheon at volleyball are both people I think the world of and they’ve truly impacted me throughout high school on and off the court. Without them I wouldn’t be anywhere near the athlete or person that I am today and reaching this goal wouldn’t have been possible”. 

“I’m still not over the fact that I won’t wear a mustang jersey anymore because I loved playing with everyone that I grew up with and in front of our community but knowing that my basketball career isn’t over definitely helps. It just helps me see that all the hard work through my years in a mustang jersey has paid off and is what has gotten me where I am today”, concluded Tye. 
 

Leave a Reply

