What does the Regional Title Mean?

I have been thinking of an article by the Courier-Journal covering the recent regional championship by the New Washington boys’ basketball team.

In the article, Coach Jonathan May was asked if he could describe what the regional title means to the small New Washington community. May, wasn’t sure he could put it into words.

He was right.

The 2017 Loogootee regional crown that now belongs to the local school means something similar but yet different for each member of the community. I don’t think there could possibly be a collective answer.

I was thinking that it would be nice if this could somehow be put into words at least on an individual basis.

The regional win tells me that we are on the map. I remember rooting for Jamie and Scott Matthews, Shannon Arthur and Glenna Bower. I recall the talents of the 1987 track team that featured Angie Ryker, who was third nationally in the shot put and won the Indiana state title for the shot put. Troy Powell finished third in the state in the pole vault.

Yes, we have had highs and lows at the school. We survived a seemingly long drought where we may have been forgotten. I am glad to say that the community never stopped believing in the students who attended New Washington through this rough patch. Students still got good educations; they became nurses, engineers and became valuable members of society. They competed in athletics as hard as they could and the town loved them just the same.

Some would feel that we are back on the map, but I don’t think we ever really left. The school and students always strived to reach further and push their limits. That is what this is all about.

These achievements also tell me that I can find a way to be better myself. The 2016-2017 boys’ basketball team found ways to come together as a team and improve. They found ways to make themselves better. They showed us that if you put the time in you can reach your goals.

I am reminded by a famous poem by Maya Angelou, “Still I Rise”.

Just like moons and like suns,

With certainly of tides,

Just like hope springing high,

Still I’ll rise

Personally, I would add just one little line to make it perfect.

Our mustangs will rise.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Leave a Reply

